Recipe of the Week: An Easy Everyday Cake

Lime Yogurt Cake, via Smitten Kitchen

Lime Yogurt Cake

I saw this cake over at Smitten Kitchen yesterday and knew in an instant I’d be making it when I got home from work. Of course, SK only has one small child (still don’t know how she does all that cooking), and I came home to the end-of-the-day fray: both kids eating dinner, all of us trying to absorb everyone’s day. Questions, constant questions. Mommy can I help? (Yes, no, wait!). In our tiny (but at least open) kitchen, while Melisa is cleaning up the remnants of dinner and trying to have some semblance of adult conversation with me.

Sort of a typical, overly-optimistic (but charming?) “this will be a breeze!” miscalculation on my part to shoe-horn a cake-baking party into the evening.

That said, this really is a perfect “everyday cake;” it came together in about 20 minutes in one bowl (despite distractions). I love that it’s a one-layer cake, that I had almost all the ingredients on hand, and that it’s so easy to share. It’s accompanied with a brightly-flavored blackberry sauce (not pictured above, but made and very much enjoyed with the cake here), and it’s a cinch to make, too.

The flavor of the cake is subtle, and the sauce not absolutely necessary, though I found it added that something extra (it was so fresh and good I had it in my yogurt this morning, too). Plus, it makes a prettier presentation. You can substitute any other fruit sauce (there’s no stovetop; only a blender involved in making it).

My friend Kim wrote from France to tell me that she thinks of making a yogurt cake when she’s forgotten she has to bring a sweet to school or to a get-together, and has to pull something out of the hat at the last-minute. Sometimes she throws any on-hand fresh fruit into the cake as well.

Get the recipe over at SKbon appetit!

3 Responses to “Recipe of the Week: An Easy Everyday Cake”


  1. 1 Amy W April 20, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Consider yourself a working-mom goddess!


  1. 1 Family Weekly Menu: April 25-May 1 « Shiny Brite Trackback on April 25, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Who I Am

Find Me on Twitter

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

