Happy Father’s Day, DAD-O

Jas & the Captain on the boat

It’s Father’s Day, and most of you are out there coordinating special breakfasts or dinners for dads, directing your children with cards and gifts. I turned the kitchen into triage for our CSA share this week, trying to figure out what needs to be eaten right away and what can wait until the end of the week. More on that later today.

First, an ode to my dad. Here’s to the guy who:

Played ticklemonster (or tickleplane) at bedtime, landshark in a pool.

Spent my childhood playing guitar for us and singing “Teach Your Children” and “Our House.”

Returned the things I filched from Walgreens.

Coached my winning and losing soccer teams -the Red Hots & the Chargers-and got even more excited than I when he saw me make a goal using my left foot.

Caught black widow spiders in Dallas for us to observe (and let die) in our bug jars.

Bore every babysitter saying he looked like Tom Selleck or Robert Wagner (“when they met, it was MURDER”) with grace

Sold moving to Houston to me by telling me the people across the street had a horse trailer in the driveway (sold it to Katie by telling her there was a whole freeway named after her).

Taught me how to drive on the BMW stick shift, convincing me to keep trying after numerous pops of the clutch by saying, “do you want to drive a sports car someday?”

Seemed genuinely sympathetic when he told me, finally, that they were not buying me a horse.

Found a nickname for everyone long before the Saturday Night Live skit or his buddy George W. (Tara= Terra Firma, the Kymmeister, Kate the Skate, Jake-O, The Boat Wench)

Entertained us kids with great trips skiing and boating (catching air at Park City, singing Neil Young on the chairlift “it’s too dark to see the keys in my ignition”)

Gave us some classic family lore (“in twenty years…” and at my MHC parents weekend: “I AM ENJOYING DINNER WITH MY WIFE AND DAUGHTER!” and “you just don’t know”)

I could come up with more, but I’ll stop here.

Dad, you’re irreplaceable!

Happy Father’s Day! XO

2 Responses to “Happy Father’s Day, DAD-O”


  1. 1 Katie June 20, 2010 at 10:47 am

    In fact, my friend Matt was (probably still is) convinced that SNL created that skit based on Dad. What a great post, what a great Dad!

  2. 2 karen June 22, 2010 at 1:22 am

    I am so jealous that I didn’t think to write a post to my dad- let alone one as sweet and totally loving as this.


Leave a Reply

Who I Am

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

