Shiny Brite Great Gifts for Mom

Okay, this is really my personal Christmas list, but I think many moms would like what I want. Santa Baby, bring it!

The New York Times, delivered at home. Seriously, I miss it. We canceled our subscription as part of our cost-cutting measures of the great recession of 2008. I’ve tried to read online. I really, really have. Here’s the thing: there’s nothing like actually holding the paper and reading it. Oh, what a luxury. And, yes, it’s true that I ignore the op-eds and read the news section last but what of it? I want my NYT! I want my food section, arts section, home section, style section, endless weekend, real estate, etc etc etc.

A full body day of beauty a la The Wizard of Oz: facial, massage, nails, hair. Have you watched WOZ lately? The part where the whole gang gets spiffed up before meeting the Wizard? (Hop over to YouTube above for a little WOZ interlude.) I think that’s what I need.

Pants. That fit. I lost about 25 pounds in the last year and I mean I HAVE NO PANTS THAT FIT. None. Except two pairs of jeans that I can’t wear to work. Help!

A haircut. What I wouldn’t do to meet Sally Hershberger.

These boots for everyday (thanks Ree Drummond for the inspiration — these look amazing).

Frye "Jane" Boots, $297 at Endless.com

Come to think of it, I’d love Ree’s cookbook:

The Pioneer Woman Cooks, $27.50

Rain boots. A girl needs rain boots and these would be perfect — love the heel! (tho for the life of me, I don’t know why Kate’s team decided to call these boots “Randi”):

Kate Spade "Randi" boots, $125 (if you can find 'em cheaper, call me!)

A full slip to wear under dresses. Romantic AND practical.

Farr West Slip, $75 from Barenecessities.com

I’m a beauty product junkie, and Lucky Magazine’s 10 Best Beauty Products of the Past Decade had me at hello. I’d love the Fresh Umbrian Clay Face Treatment, the Ojon Restorative hair treatment, or almost anything on the page (except the Instant Spray Shampoo and anything where the color is “greige”).

$48 @ Fresh.com

Purse-size perfume. Like a lipstick, this could be just the thing to perk up your day. I’m completely coveting a friend’s perfume. Can’t get that — too weird — so the next best thing would be Annick Goutal’s Eau d’Hadrien.

Help us, indeed

A St. Monica charm for my bracelet. St. Monica is the patron saint of patience. Enough said.

Another find from the December issue of Lucky is a taste of Paris: a candle from Ladurée, the wonderful Parisian tea room:

Mimosa candle, $68 at Aedes.com

Oh, really, there’s such a list (I held back the iPad, the Anthropologie gift certificate, gloves & hat combo etc, etc).

I’ve been good almost all year…

For more NYC mama gift ideas, read Melisa’s Christmas list.

Related Posts:

Birthday Ideas for Mom(mies)!

4 Responses to “Shiny Brite Great Gifts for Mom”


  1. 1 Amy December 16, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I want a blog post on how Chrissy lost her 25 lbs. I just saw her a week or so ago and thought “daaaaaaaaaaamn, that girl looks fanflippintastic.”

  2. 2 Paula/adhocmom December 23, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I actually know someone who got her haircut by Sally H herself for a tv show. She ended up WITH A MULLET. She wasn’t so happy. Luckily it was FREE. xo Paula


  1. 1 All I Want for Christmas Is…. Good Gift Ideas for Moms (OK, Me.) « Shiny Brite Trackback on December 16, 2010 at 9:30 am
  2. 2 December 18 – 19: Weekend Links for Brooklyn Mamas « Shiny Brite Trackback on December 17, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Who I Am

Find Me on Twitter

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

