Weekly Menu, March 13 – 19 Bring on the Warm Weather

Last week my (very brief business) trip to Florida left me longing—even more than usual—for summer. Short sleeves, short skirts, dresses, bare feet, and most importantly: the beach the beach the beach. Sand between my toes, sun beating down, listening to waves pulling at the shore, star-lit nights. And temps above 70 degrees. Sigh. I’ll have to wait until school break in April to put my bare feet in the sand again.

So this week, the menu is all about hurrying to my favorite season.

It’s not that I don’t like spring. I’m thrilled that the perennial tulips I planted two years ago are coming up as promised for their second showing, and that the daffodils are filling in around the yard. Even the finicky French tulips seem to be making a play for a second year. I can’t wait to see the Japanese Magnolia bloom, and the almost fluorescent color of the new green leaves on the trees.

It’s just I’m impatient; I want what I want when I want it. And I want summer now.

Thus:

Weekly Menu, the I Want Summer Edition

I’ve got charcoal for one grill and an extra tank of propane for the other, so we’re ready to go!

Sunday: Spice-Rubbed Chicken and Vegetable Tacos with Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Cream, a summer fave.

Monday: Pasta with Corn, Tomatoes, and Basil. This is one we make over and over June-September. Sometimes we throw in bacon, sometimes goat cheese. Since it’s hardly corn & tomato season, tonight we’ll probably throw in both.

Tuesday: Grilled Steak, with Arugula & Shaved Parmesan

Wednesday: Black Bean and Feta Tacos with Slawcooks up in 10 minutes via Smit Kit

Thursday: Grilled Shrimp and Vegetables

Friday: Grilled Salmon with Chili Glaze and Salad

Saturday: Grilled Pizza with Fontina and Prosciutto

May all your days this week be warm (or warmer).

Better, yes?

4 Responses to “Weekly Menu, March 13 – 19 Bring on the Warm Weather”


  1. 1 lifecoachabby March 13, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    I need to start doing weekly menus. When do you sit down and do it? We eat really healthy around here but I think some extra organization would be helpful.

  2. 2 Chrissy March 14, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    Hi! I plan Saturday or Sunday morning while my kids are either sleeping or distracted by morning TV (shhh). I bookmark my fave cooking sites and take a look to see what everyone was cooking, what sounds good, etc. At the same time, I make a grocery list. It saves us time & money and the stress of what’s for dinner. Good luck!

  3. 3 Jenn March 21, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    just stumbled across your blog while searching for a recipe for Baked Fontina….girl, where do you find the time to cook these impressive sounding dinners? ive glanced around your blog & you work & have 2 kids plus a husband! im impressed

    cheers!


Leave a Reply

Who I Am

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

