Weekly Menu, May 15-21

So remember how I said I didn’t get kale? My friend Ari made us the most amazing raw kale salad last weekend. SIMPLE: Washed, stemmed, sliced, tossed with toasted hazelnuts, olive oil and raw garlic. Perfectly fresh, substantial and delicious. And not just because of the martini on an empty stomach. At least I don’t think so. See a similar recipe for kale below.

Kale salad. Doesn't it look wholesome?

What else do I have to tell you? OMG, 20th college reunion this weekend! All I can say is that 1) I have the white dress for the parade and 2) well, I’m not as skinny as I was in college, but I’m just as blond and thinner than I was at the last reunion! And of course, accomplished. Ahem. Seriously, though, looking forward to seeing the “uncommon women” on the green.

May sunny skies greet you all week!

Sunday: Salmon with Sweet Chile Glaze, Sautéed Green Beans

Monday: Pork Shoulder Ragu (terrific, simple recipe from Dinner A Love Story) and Pasta

Tuesday: Kids have their annual check-up, so again, easy: think we’ll buy a rotisserie chicken and make a Thai Chicken Salad.

Wednesday: Grilled Fish Tacos (if it’s not raining…or maybe if it is) something like this recipe from Food & Wine

Thursday: Looks like it might be the first day of the week without rain, which means: GRILL!! Ina Garten’s Tuscan Lemon Chicken and Raw Kale Salad and Parmesan & Hazelnuts (courtesy of London Foodie in NY- based on a salad from Marlow & Sons).

Friday: I have a work dinner to attend, so Melisa and the kids will probably order out

Saturday: 20th College reunion at Mount Holyoke! In honor of this exciting event, I bringing you the Mount Holyoke Drinking Song:

Tired of books and boring classes,

drop your books, pick up your glasses

toast – to those who boast -

of mixing Greek and Latin with a cool Manhattan

Smith, may have their iced tea hours

We prefer our whiskey sours

Drink and never think

about tomorrow tonight

And over there they have their Heidelbergs

And then there’s Morey’s down at Yale…

But when those Harvard boys

Drink to college joys

It’s dull, you must agree

Squeezing lemon in your tea….

The face upon the bar room floor

I’d rather be than dull once more

We’re HERE, Bring on the BEER,

Who cares tonight, we’ll be sober tomorrow

Here’s a toast to Old MHC!

 

4 Responses to “Weekly Menu, May 15-21”


  1. 1 Sarah May 16, 2011 at 11:11 am

    Love the menus! Have fun with all the uncommon women this weekend. Tell them all HELLO from Sarah. XXXX

  2. 2 kimk May 16, 2011 at 11:25 am

    I’m counting on you to bring me all the MHC news! Cheers!

  3. 3 Christine May 17, 2011 at 10:53 am

    I was searching for the MHC drinking song in anticipation of my 5 year reunion this weekend! Thanks so much.


  1. 1 Home Blog Talk | A Child Grows Trackback on May 18, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

