More BPA-Free Lunch Box Solutions for Back-To-School

If you have kids, I hope you’ve signed up for the Cool Mom Picks newsletter. Their August Back-to-School edition is fabulous, so check it out! They have some great selections for BPA-free, adorable lunch box options that I have never seen before. This is seriously cute stuff.

In my last post on the search for a BPA-free but microwave safe food container, an astute reader noted that perhaps instead of having my kids microwave food at school, I could heat the lunch up at home in something safe, and then put it into an insulated thermos. A-ha! Problem is finding a wide-mouthed, short thermos that would fit into a backpack. I’ve spent some time looking and found that Klean Kanteen makes one that looks good:

Klean Kanteen 12 oz Wide Insulated Thermos, $22.95

Cool Mom Picks found another one for me from Crocodile Creek (via Cattiwampus):

Crocodile Creek Ballerina Thermos, $15

Problem solved!

Back to Bento Boxes. You may remember I was trying the Bento Box 2.0 system from Laptop Lunches. Reader, I love it. Takes away all need for plastic baggies (available at Whole Foods if you have one nearby), and it fits into the cute, personalized Pottery Barn Kids lunch box that Grandma sent:

Pottery Barn Kids Fairfax Lunch Box, $15.20

Still, I could be swayed by these cuties that CMP found for me at My Sweet Muffin:

Bento Box from My Sweet Muffin, $18

It should be mentioned that you ought to visit My Sweet Muffin for great gift ideas if not bento boxes; they have some unique and wonderful things. Check out their seat organizer for the car here.

And how about these reusable personalized snack bags from BleuRoo? Insanely adorable (and if you don’t want personalization, BleuRoo has plenty of other choices, from dragonflies to dogs).

Reusable Snack Bag from BleuRoo, $15 for two

So a few more offerings for all you back-to-school crazed moms and dads.

And now, back to my vacation.

5 Responses to “More BPA-Free Lunch Box Solutions for Back-To-School”


  1. 1 Tonya August 12, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Thanks! This is great!! My son starts school in a few weeks and I was totally worried about what I was going to put his food in (not that he’ll actually eat it). Awesome!

  2. 2 Kevin August 13, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    If you like Klean Kanteen, then you will love Pangea Bottles. Not only are they eco-friendly, but they are also people-friendly. You see, for every bottle that they sell, they give one person clean water for 4 years! By donating 20% of the revenue from each bottle they are making a difference in a sustainable way! Check them out at http://www.PangeaBottles.com

  3. 3 Cay November 11, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    You guys, your blog is freakin’ awesome! I love it. Am sure I will spend WAY too much time in front of my computer reading old posts in the next week. Because now I have to catch up so I don’t miss anything great.

    BTW, my kids love their Goodbyn lunch boxes. They aren’t quite bento, but close enough to make me happy, as I am obsessed with bento but they are never quite big enough for Bishopp’s appetite. And BPA free, dishwasher safe, all the good stuff.

    http://www.goodbyn.com/goodbyn/Default.aspx


  1. 1 Back-to-School: Anxiety, Relief, and the Rewards of the Slow Food in Schools Project « Shiny Brite Trackback on September 9, 2010 at 2:21 pm
  2. 2 New York’s Chinatown with Kids « Shiny Brite Trackback on November 9, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Who I Am

Find Me on Twitter

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers


