Shepherd’s Pie and the “Trip” to England

Well, we’re back. Kids in bed, kitchen cleaned up. How did it go, you ask?

I’m happy to report that it was better than last week! I’d rate it a 6 out of 10. The Shepherd’s Pie was a nice Sunday supper on a cool fall night. Melisa and I thought it was just the thing and had two helpings. Jasper first complained “it looks gross” and “I’m sorry I ever brought it (going to England) up.” Then he ate his whole dinner. Hey, it’s meat and potatoes, two of his favorite things. I think it also helped that we told him it was his friend Toby’s (young man, not square train) favorite.

Magnolia was not so impressed. She 1) doesn’t like mashed potatoes (I know. Sometimes we wonder where she came from) and 2) isn’t really all that into things like spaghetti sauce, which is kind of what the meat is like.

We served the whole thing with a side of peas. Peas are often found in Shepherd’s Pie and I can see why. Sounds strange, but they just fit perfectly into the meal. It all tastes right together.

It was pretty easy to prepare.

All put together and ready to go into the oven

And it looked hot and gooey and good after it had cooked.

Hot on the table

And pretty on the plate:

Ta-da

The trifle, as you might imagine, was a hit. I used spiced pears, fresh whipped cream, raspberries, and pound cake.

We bought the spiced pears at our little Fifth Avenue farmer’s market and have been waiting for the right opportunity to use them. This seemed like the time. I poured some of the juices over the pound cake.

Yum

The finished product looked as good as it tasted.

I think Sir Topham Hatt would be pleased.

Chrissy, you're a really useful engine.

Okay. I should go now.

Thank you, Helen, for the recipe and advice!

Related posts:

Weekly Menu, Complete with Trip to Sodor

Leave a Reply

Who I Am

Find Me on Twitter

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers


