Shop Local in Brooklyn: Great Places to Find Good Gifts

shoes at m.a.e.

Shoes, shoes, shoes at m.a.e.

Okay, I missed the Small Business Saturday shopfest last weekend. Believe me, I didn’t want to. I had already planned on buying as many of my gifts locally as possible. When I do head out- hopefully soon!- this is where I’ll go.

Here’s my shopping hit list in Brooklyn:

M.A.E. consignment in Brooklyn

M.a.e.: My favorite consignment/resale shop! On Seventh Avenue in the South Slope. I scored a pair of Prada heels for $200 and two Diane von Furstenburg dresses ($125 each, with the tags still on them) on my birthday. Might be a good place to pick up a sweet belt or wallet for my mom or sister, or a great top for Melisa. And of course, scope out the deals for me. (buymae.com)

Two Lovers Boutique: My second favorite resale shop in the Slope! A recent find included an ultra-feminine black velvet jacket that I see myself wearing all through the holidays. I’ll look here for unique but affordable jewelry, or fun accent pieces for giftees. (twoloversnyc.com)

Scaredy Kat: The perfect place to grab pretty wrapping paper, or a card for my boss, not to mention fun stocking stuffers for all ages. The mustache kit could bring a smile to an end-of-Christmas-morning holiday crowd. (scaredykatstore.com)

Lulu’s Then and Now: Another great resale shop, this time for kids — you’ll find a tempting selection of clothes, shoes, books, and toys. I have already picked up some great oversized picture books on horses for Magnolia, and a Disney princess puzzle to put under the tree. I hope I’ll get lucky and find a pair or two of skates for the winter. (lulusthenandnow.com)

Diana Kane: Always worth a stop for luxe gifts and that bottle of Kai perfume for Melisa that always seems to be running out. Yum. (dianakane.com)

Neergaard Toys: Yep, that’s right. Above the drugstore on 5th Avenue and 9th Street. They have a wide selection of toys, some hard to find. Last year, after scouring the internet for the Melissa & Doug Princess Castle, which was sold out EVERYWHERE, we finally found it here. Whew!

Clay Pot: This Brooklyn favorite is so crowded (and expensive) that normally it would not be on my list at the holidays (despite their beautiful things). But I’m dying to clap eyes on the jewelry from Ananda Khalsa, somewhere other than the internet, and take a look at their pretty ornaments.

Tiny Bluebird stud earrings by Ananda Khalsa, $160 in sterling

And out of the Slope, but well worth a special trip:

Brooklyn Farmacy: This place is a find! Not only is it a terrific soda shop, selling P&H sodas that Melisa posted about recently, amazing ice cream from Adirondack Creamery and pastries from (what I consider the best patisserie in the neighborhood) Trois Pommes, it also is a great go-to spot for locally made gifts. You can find something for everyone here, everyone, that is, who likes good food. Among the offerings: salsa from Brooklyn Salsa Company, McClure’s Bloody Mary mix, chutney from the DP Chutney Collective, and Caitlin Wicker’s “sweater toys” — the cutest baby gift– among much more! All local, all unique. Do some shopping and treat yourself to an egg cream while you’re at it.

Caitlin Wicker's "Forest Friends" / Brooklyn Farmacy

Happy shopping!

0 Responses to “Shop Local in Brooklyn: Great Places to Find Good Gifts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Who I Am

Find Me on Twitter

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers


