Magnolia on Having Two Moms, Shiny Brite, and a Few of Her Favorite Things

M. with magic wand from Simply Playing on Etsy

Magnolia with her magic wand from Simply Playing on Etsy.

In a recent Babble article on advice for mom bloggers, I read a tip from Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, on a fun way to keep things fresh: do a guest post with your kids. So I decided to interview mine to see if they had anything funny or incriminating to say about us. Unlike those Deborah Solomon “Questions for…” columns in The New York Times, where they make it clear she has “condensed and edited” at will, I’m gonna give it to you straight.

Up first, Magnolia:

How old are you now?

Four.

Do you know what an interview is?

No. I don’t know.

What do you think mommy is doing when she sits at the computer?

You’re writing — sometimes you write a letter to mommy. Sometimes, you read a book to me and Jasper. Because sometimes you need to do stuff on the computer.

Any idea what a blog is? Have you ever heard that word?

No.

What do you like to do on the computer?

I like to do…. um, write a letter to Jasper. I like to watch a movie on the computer. And I like to do…. That’s all the things I can think of.

What do you think about having two mommies?

I love my two mommies! I wish they had a magic wand that has real magic and when they say magic words, it would do real magic.

What do you like the most about our house in Brooklyn?

I like Rainbow in My Room. And I like this soccer ball.

What makes you really happy?

This magic wand. Cookies. Playing in the snow. Catching bugs in a jar.

And what makes you sad?

Um — when Jasper takes away my toys. And when Jasper takes away this magic wand from me.

What’s the best part of having an older brother?

His socks and shoes. I need to think about it…. Um, I like his trains on his train table.

You’ve mentioned a few times that you have a new magic wand — what do you like about it?

Um, its real magic. And its little strings. And the rainbow part of it. And the heart on the top. Did I do an interview?

You did! What do you think?

Good!

And later this week, Jasper weighs in. Stay tuned!

For more on Jenny Lawson, and her kind of super-amazing holiday post that ballooned into an avalanche of kindness, generosity, and general good-doing, read Today’s HuffPost Greatest Person: Jenny Lawson, The Bloggess. Talk about magic.

(magic wand from Santa, via Simply Playing by Adolina on Etsy)

9 Responses to “Magnolia on Having Two Moms, Shiny Brite, and a Few of Her Favorite Things”


  1. 2 Amy January 3, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Adorable. And it’s safe to say that Nola is diggin’ on her magic wand.

  2. 3 Kristen January 4, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Magnolia is adorable. So sweet.

  3. 4 Melisa January 4, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    Awww, thanks y’all!

  4. 5 CC January 5, 2011 at 7:22 am

    I loved this. I think I might take this idea and run with it! Thanx Blogess! Thanx Shinybrite! your kidz r adorable!

  5. 6 Paula/adhocmom January 5, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Did you pay her in Cheerios?

  6. 7 Melisa January 5, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    No, Paula — she’ll work for free! (Let me know if you need her….)


  1. 1 Jasper on First Grade, Trains, and Taking Trips « Shiny Brite Trackback on January 5, 2011 at 3:03 pm
  2. 2 Out of the Mouths of Babes « CC's Kidz Blog Trackback on January 26, 2011 at 12:17 am

Leave a Reply

Find Me on Twitter

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers


