Belated Mother’s Day Ruminations (and the Weekly Menu)

I spent yesterday in the company of two excellent moms, both of whom regularly inspire me.

The first is my wife, who manages the day-to-day of our children (and so much of our lives) with thoughtfulness and insight.

The other is a friend, whose grace and good-nature makes parenting look like a breeze.

And, of course, I thought a lot about my mom yesterday, who taught me so much, who is still teaching me.

Melisa, mom and Magnolia

The most important advice she gave me (and coincidentally, the same advice Melisa’s mom gave her), was, “You can do anything you want, you can be anything you want.”

The model she set for me has directed my course: to take joy in life. Find it everyday. And persevere through the hard times with a smile and a laugh.

She taught me how to dress for a date. That cooking and entertaining are pure pleasure.  That a girl needs her friends.  That you have to take care of yourself, body and soul.

That having fun is as important, maybe more, as being serious.

Yesterday I woke up early. It was a bright, perfect day, and with the house quiet, I walked to the beach. Not a cloud in the sky. I sat out and watched the sun on the water for about an hour. I thought about how things come to be, and how they pass. How you never stop evolving. How when you are pregnant, you don’t comprehend, don’t really even have an inkling, of the great weight of motherhood, so magical and terrifying. How everything you do will affect your children in ways small and large.

9 months- oy!

I thought about how I want nothing more than for my children to be curious, kind, and happy. How life is full of infinite possibilities, and yet, that there are rules and roadblocks that sometimes you can’t get around. How there will be sadness.

I thought about my mother, wondered how she reconciled her joy with the knowledge of its fragility.

Nola and mommy

My good-natured friend, who is always there with sound advice and a laugh, shared a poem written by Michael Ondaatje to his daughter. One line in particular stood out and I’ve been thinking of it ever since:

Want everything. If you break

break going out, not in.

I can’t protect my kids entirely from life’s hardships, nor can I promise them its pleasures in full, but I can give them the curiosity to experience it fully.

***

Weekly Menu:

Monday:  Orecchiette with Burst Tomatoes and Goat Cheese

Tuesday: Grilled Flank Steak (appropriately with Mom’s Marinade) with Grilled Vegetables and Orzo

Wednesday: Melisa & I have an after-work engagement, so it’s all about easy: Rotisserie Chicken and Simple Salad

Thursday: Barbeque Shrimp and Grilled Vegetables

Friday: Chicken Skewers with Pita & Tzatziki

Saturday: Pizza Night! Depending on the weather, could be time to grill pizza.

3 Responses to “Belated Mother’s Day Ruminations (and the Weekly Menu)”


  1. 1 Sarah May 9, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    What a beautiful tribute from my beautiful (inside and out)girl.

  2. 2 Amy W May 9, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Lovely, Chrissy.

  3. 3 Susan May 9, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    What beautifully written, heart felt ruminations. I especially like the shout out to your most wonderful mother.. . one of my favorites. xo


Leave a Reply

Find Me on Twitter

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers


